Skip to content

The Leaf Spider

March 13, 2012

Background: I have a very hardworking adviser. When the story happened, his wife was in another city so he found no reason to go home and worked on campus until late all the time, he also showed up before eight.

In order not to look like a lazy bone student, I decided to go back to campus to work after dinner. It was always dark and I had fifty four stairs from the lake to highway to climb to my car. It was on the side of the highway, with absolute no light around it except the light from the lamp inside some other houses that leaked out. And somehow I always had this imagination that there would be some bad dude sneak into my car and just hid there and would kill me once I got into the car.. for no reason, so each time in the very dark, I would try to look inside the car very hard until I made sure nobody was hiding there to take my life away and then get in and immediately lock the door and drove to campus.

One solution of all this fuzz was to take one of my friend home and go back with him, so he could fight my imaginary enemy. But he was very afraid of spiders. (I laughed at him for a long time after I learned that, until I was bitten by one and it swollen so bad that I had to go to the doctor to get cream to soothe it. )

It was one of these nights, when we both sat in the car and I started the car, I began to tell him this weird fear of “my  friend” hidden in the car, and then he suddenly said, look behind. I shrieked loud before I turned to look behind. “Wow, you are not joking.. you really thought there was somebody.” “Who knows, he could be lying down there waiting for me to lose alert. ”

It was a night in the fall, and then a breeze started, suddenly my car window was covered by this bunch of fist sized things, so I shrieked again, “spiders”,

“where is it ?”, my friend said nervously and his voice began to shiver, and soon both of us are shrieking.

Then I stopped, and said, “sorry, they are just leaves. ”

Wind was blowing again, a lot of these leaf spiders falling off my car window.

Who knows, maybe some spiders look like leaf, and some leaves might be spiders instead.

5 Comments
  1. Hi,
    The scene of many horror movies, somebody getting into their car and the next thing you know all you see is a knife. 🙂
    I also don’t like spiders, we have a lot of venomous spiders here in OZ so you do have to be careful.

    A great post. Easy to read and entertaining as well. 😀

  2. Thanks! I think that is exactly where my I got my illusions. Especially that famous one, gnome country for old man, it was called?

    Are you talking about where the wizard lives? I will eat a lot of garlic when I visit you. I hear garlic is effect against mosquitoes, maybe they will do with spiders as well. .

  3. I’m just a guy with a limerick reply…

    A spider has eight legs you see,
    It frightens you and it scares me;
    When one is in sight,
    You can’t measure my fright,
    My instincts say just let it be.

    Compliments of Humorous Interludes
    ronyaroshauthor.com

  4. It also has eight eyes as well!
    Octopus has eight legs, but they were kind of cute, in the cartoon version.

  5. You have received the Sunshine Award! Please visit the following link:
    http://fourbluehills.com/2012/03/18/sunshine-award-2/

Leave a Reply

