Skip to content

Should I be Proud or should I be Shamed?

March 22, 2013

It was another day in North America. I was going to pick up some real edible things (like whole fish, piggy feet, not artificial protein seen in the other supermarkets) from the Chinese store. I went with two friends, one Chinese and a curious non-Chinese. Although my English was improving a lot after years of staying in the foreign country (and marrying a little western one, –my hubby referred by my parents), the things in Chinese stores have no English equivalent of my knowledge, so i was talking excitedly with my Chinese friend and pointing out all the things i want to buy.

 

All of a sudden, a staff working there felt it was necessary to jump over to me and interrupt us (in Chinese),’Miss, your Chinese has a strong American/Canadian accent. ‘

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

